The Payments tab is where you will handle the configuration of all general payment settings, including your Payment gateway which will handle the collection of payments made with the directory.
Business Directory Plugin comes with one gateway integrated (Authorize.net) but supports a number of others. They include:
- PayPal (if premium module is installed)
- Stripe (if premium module is installed)
- PayFast (if premium module is installed)
The generic payment settings can be found under the Payment->General settings sub tab:
Turn on payments: Check this setting if you want to accept paid listings. The directory operates in one of two modes: Paid or Free. Free mode means this setting is OFF. Paid or Mixed means it's ON. You may also need to check this setting if you want MULTIPLE plans to offer your users, even if you don't collect fees for the basic listings.
Put Payment Gateways in test mode: Check this to test your directory's full workflow from start to finish using the test mode of your preferred gateway. Using this mode requires that you configure the appropriate test keys in your gateway as well. See the specific settings of your gateway from the top of this page to know what those are.
The remaining settings including currency code and currency code placement are left up to you, depending on your preferences and needs.
You can also configure payment reminders for those who attempted to place a listing, but never complete the process (“Abandoned Cart Emails”):
Thank you for payment message: This text will appear on the screen after the user successfully completes a payment for a listing. You can alter it here.
Ask users to come back for abandoned payments: Check this setting if you'd like BD to try and send emails to users who start a listing, but fail to pay for it. A listing is considered ‘Abandoned' if the user submits the data for a listing but fails to complete payment after 24 hours. You can send any number of emails in sequence for users to come back (they are configured under the Emails tab, and there's a link on this page that allows you to navigate there easily).
Listing abandonment threshold: The time (in hours) when you consider a listing that has not been paid for but has data to be “Abandoned”. Default is 24 hours. This setting is only active when you check the previous setting (Ask users to come back for abandoned payments).
The last option (Enable Discount System) is only available when you have the Discount Codes module installed. If you wish to offer coupons to users when placing a listing, you must turn this setting on before adding coupons under Directory → Manage Coupons.